Lectures

Keys History & Discovery Center Presents… 2021-2022 Lecture Series

 

Attend in person or participate virtually! 

Presentations begin at 6 p.m.

Advance online registration is required whether attending in person or participating virtually. Mark your calendars, paying particular attention to new deadline dates implemented to accommodate host site and capacity limitations.

Doors to the Discovery Center open at 5:00 p.m. to allow guests to view exhibits before the presentation. Cash bar and light appetizers available.

Free for members.  When registering, click link at the top of the page: “Do you have an access code?”  Enter case sensitive access code provided to members on program emails and mailers to receive your free access member tickets.  You can become a member and save on our Lecture Series at www.keysdiscovery.com/membership

Non-members: In person, $10; Virtual only, $5.  

With seating limited, priority registration is available for members only through designated dates below. After the close of this priority window, seats are allocated first-come, first-serve through registration deadline.  If capacity is reached you will be able to join a waitlist. 

Registration for virtual participants can be made up to one hour before the start of the lecture.  Virtual attendees will receive a confirmation email with a link to join the Zoom webinar.  With a virtual ticket, those who register but do not attend live will receive a link to view the recorded lecture after it concludes. Additional information on Zoom Video Webinars can be found here.

2022 Spring Season

Wednesday, March 23
Protecting the Home Front: Women in Civil Defense in the Early Cold War
with Dr. Michael Scheibach, Scholar, Educator and Author
Register for the March 23 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Mar. 16 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Mar. 22 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Mar. 23 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, April 13
How Caribbean King Crabs Might Help Save Florida’s Coral Reef
with Dr. Jason Spadaro, Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Mote Laboratory
Register for the April 13 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, April 6 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, April 12 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, April 13 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, April 27
Archaeology, Adaption, and Resilience in the Keys
with Sara Ayers-Rigsby, Director of Southeast and Southwest Regions for the Florida Public Archaeology Network at Florida Atlantic University
Register for the April 27 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, April 20 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, April 26 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, April 27 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, May 11
Saving the Keys’ Tomorrow
with Paul Evans, Science Writer and Outreach Coordinator for UF IFAS Fort Lauderdale Research and Education Center
Register for the May 11 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, May 4 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, May 10 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, May 11 at 5 p.m.

 

2022 Winter Season

Wednesday, January 12
Flamingo Forever: The Rebirth of a Cherished Everglades National Park Destination
with Charlie Arazoza, The Alliance of Florida’s National Parks, and Alan Scott, Everglades National Park
Register for the January 12 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Jan. 5 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Jan. 11 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Jan. 12 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, January 26 
Hemingway and Bimini: The Birth of Sport Fishing at ‘the End of the World’
with Dr. Ashley Oliphant, Associate Professor of English, Pfeiffer University
Sponsored in memory of Robert L. Mitchell
Register for the January 26 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Jan. 19 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Jan. 25 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Jan. 26 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, February 9
Key Limes, Bonefish and Hurricanes: The Lancelot Jones Story
with Dr. John Nordt, Historian
Sponsored in memory of Robert L. Mitchell
Register for the February 9 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Feb. 2 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Feb. 8 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Feb. 9 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, February 23
A History of Weather Forecasting in the Florida Keys
with Jonathan Rizzo, Meteorologist at Key West’s National Weather Service
Register for the February 23 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Feb. 16 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Feb. 22 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Feb. 23 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, March 9
Florida Loves Manatees
with Dr. Steven Noll, Professor of History, University of Florida
Register for the March 9 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, March 2 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, March 8 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, March 9 at 5 p.m.

2021 Fall Season

Wednesday, October 13
Prehistoric Snowbirds at Stock Island: A Six-Year Study
with Dr. Ryan Harke, Archaeologist/Environmental Protection Specialist
Register for the October 13 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Friday, Oct. 1 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Friday, Oct. 8 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Oct. 13 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, October 27
Breaths that Count: History of Island Dolphin Care
with Deena Hoagland, Founder and Executive Director
Register for the October 27 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Friday, Oct. 15 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Friday, Oct. 22 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Oct. 27 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, November 10
Florida Keys or Bust! History of Tourism
with Dr. Cori Convertito, Maritime and Local Historian
Register for the November 10 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Nov. 3 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Nov. 9 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Nov. 10 at 5 p.m.

Wednesday, December 8
Seeking the American Tropics: South Florida’s Early Naturalists
with Dr. James A. Kushlan, Author and Ornithologist
Register for the December 8 Lecture Here
Member priority registration through Wednesday, Dec. 1 at 5 p.m.
All in-person registration closes Tuesday, Dec. 7 at 5 p.m.
Virtual only registration closes Wednesday, Dec. 8 at 5 p.m.

WordPress Theme built by Shufflehound. ©Florida Keys History & Discovery Center
has been added to the cart. View Cart
mrkeroppi