Lectures

Keys History & Discovery Center Presents… 2019-2020 Lecture Series

 

Doors to the Discovery Center open at 5:30 p.m. to allow guests to view exhibits before the presentation.

Presentation begins at 6 p.m. and generally last one hour.

Reservations Recommended. Call 305-922-2237 or email info@keysdiscovery.com

Cost: Members free; $10 for non-members, includes light snacks/appetizers and a cash bar.

Wednesday, October 23
Beyond the Sunshine: A Timeline of Florida’s Past 
with Rick Baker, Author and former Mayor of St. Petersburg

Wednesday, November 6
Everglades Restoration: Protecting Habitats, Conserving Water & Strengthening Our Economy
with Dr. Steve Davis, Senior Ecologist, Everglades Foundation

Wednesday, November 20
Storm of the Century: The Labor Day Hurricane of 1935 
with Willie Drye, Author and National Geographic News Contributing Editor

Wednesday, December 11
True Pirate Tales of the Florida Keys 
with Brad Bertelli, Historian, Author and Curator of the Florida Keys History & Discovery Center

Wednesday, January 8
Saving our Reefs: Ambitious Efforts to Flip the Script
with Sarah Fangman, Superintendent, Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary

Wednesday, January 22
Topic Coming Soon
with Dr. Ross Boucek, Florida Keys Initiative Manager, Bonefish & Tarpon Trust

Wednesday, February 5
Bad Guys, Bullets, and Boat Chases: True Stories of Florida Game Wardens 
with Bob H. Lee, Author and Veteran Wildlife Officer

Wednesday, February 19
Florida’s First Ladies
with Dr. Peggy Macdonald, Author, Public Historian and Adjunct Professor of History, Stetson University and Indian River State College

Wednesday, March 4
Above and Beyond: JFK and the Florida Pilots During the Cuban Missile Crisis 
with Michael Tougias, Author

Wednesday, March 18
Underwater World of Exploration, Research and Discovery
with Thomas Potts, Associate Director of Research Administration, Aquarius Reef Base, Florida International University

Wednesday, April 1
Topic Coming Soon
with presenter coming soon

Wednesday, April 15
Florida Soul: From Ray Charles to KC and the Sunshine Band
with John Capouya, Author and Associate Professor of Journalism, University of Tampa

Wednesday, April 29
Florida Transportation: Planes, Trains & Automobiles (Steamboats Too!)
with Dr. Steven Noll, Author and Master Lecturer in History, University of Florida

Wednesday, May 13
Topic Coming Soon
with Dr. Phil Gravinese, Postdoctoral Fellow, Mote Marine Laboratory

WordPress Theme built by Shufflehound. ©Florida Keys History & Discovery Center